Straight lines whenever I draw

Hi

I’m using the Huion 420 drawing tablet in pencil2d, and whenever I try to draw a circle it doesn’t draw then when I move the pen, it draws a straight line. I’m new to animation and drawing so I don’t know if this is normal or not, but it would be nice to turn it off.

This happens when I draw fast or slow.

Thanks

@e1ement Hi, this doens’t have to do with being new to animation & drawing or not. IT may seem Pencil2D is either not recognizing your HUION tablet, or your computer is having struggles to calculate the lines.

If you can please try another free program to see if you can draw properly. There are drawing apps like Firealpaca (http://firealpaca.com/) or Krita (http://krita.org) that are completely Free, and can help you assess if your problem lies with the Huion drivers, with Pencil2D, your computer hardware (how powerful your CPU is) or all of the above.

If you can draw in either program just fine, then Pencil2D might not understand your HUION tablet input. As far as I know Pencil2D understands any WINTAB type input out of the box, so if HUION brands use wintab type drivers, it should work (which is why I’m asking you to test the other programs first).

If you can’t draw properly in other programs, but you’re sure that the drivers are of wintab type (normally there’s a label that says so) then it might be that your computer is not powerful enough to run any kind of advanced drawing program, in such case I’m afraid I don’t know what I could recommend because despite it’s simplicity Pencil2D needs a rather buff CPU (at least quad core) and minimum 4GBs of RAM, to allow for a decent drawing experience.

Try out the other software and let us know what are your computer specifications in order to better udnerstand what the problem might be. And try to maintain your HUION drivers up-to-date regardless of the software you end up using :slightly_smiling_face:

Hi and thanks for the help!