Still having an old issue on latest pencil2D with audio sync

I have Version 0.6.6 and I’m having the same issue thats discussed here : Timeline and Audio syncing issue The last message in the thread says it’s fixed but I’m still running into the issue.

I still have to play from the beginning to get true frame by frame playback. I’m making an animatic and it’s 5+ minutes long so it’s not too bad now but later I’d have to sit through 3-4 minutes just to fix the timing for each beat progression.

If you want to see the problem in action it’s at 5:17:15 ish in this vod : Twitch

This is my first time pretty much using Pencil2D and I really love it. Like, a lot. I love how simple and beginner friendly it is and I’m wishing this is just an issue on my end that I can fix because I really love working with this program and I’m gonna have to spend a lot of time in it.

@corpseil Hi. Unfortunately we’ve found an entirely different picture ever since that thread.

First of there were nasty sound issues that have been fixed one after the other ever since, however similar to other animation software Pencil2D image playback will lag against the sound the more frames and layers you have.

This happens to me with Flash (animate CC), with Toonboom Harmony and even with After Effects. The difference is that other apps have a “preview” feature built-in. Pencil2D currently does not have this, and while it is on the roadmap it will take time to be implemented.

Just as an example I used all three choices I’ve mentioned and I always, always have to pre-render or “cache bake” the playback to play it back as a video, this is basically dumping everything to memory and otherwise I can’t see the real time playback. Flash and AE show frame drops when doing real time playback due to the sheer amount of layers and frames I work with, while Harmony becomes slow as heck with a plethora of deformers, it’s unfortunately normal.