Newbie with Newbie Questions

Hello. First, thank you! To all who take the time to make this software available.

So I’m a math teacher, computer nerd, budding author, and occasional artist. :slight_smile: I like to do art for its therapeutic value. As I’ve been in Stress Mode a lot lately, I’ve been doing a lot of art. I use GIMP but felt as if the limitations of making an animated GIF were beginning to make things too difficult. So I downloaded Pencil2D and have been playing with it. I’ve read through the FAQ, looked at a few tutorial videos, and read many of the topics in the How To section. Some of my questions have been touched on, some havent, but I figured I’d clump them all up in one place anyway. Thank you in advance to anyone who can address any of my questions. Originally I was just doing animated GIFS and looking to expand so keep in mind that I began with the idea of GIFS. Also I’m old enough to have grown up in Cupertino about the same time that Apple was growing up there. My first animation class was on personally autographed by Wozniak pre-Macintosh (forgot the name) computers donated to our high school by Apple computers.

1. I don’t understand the camera layer. I ignored it, but the first time I took my file and saved it as a movie, I got a crooked film. It was also zoomed in to about 1/4th or 1/2 the original image. Thus most of the “action” was out of the shot. I also noticed that when I go to the camera layer, it is upside down. boob in the bitmap later is poop in the camera layer (does that make sense? tried to think of an ascii method of showing what I meant) maybe boob is qooq (but it’s funnier to say boob is poop).

2. I figured I’d somehow rotated the image in the camera layer, so I added a second camera layer and then deleted the first. The new layer was upside down. I’m pretty sure that when I imported my gif file(s) it was upside down. At the Bitmap layer I hit the R key until it was right-side-up… but perhaps that was my problem.