Use one frame throughout an animation

Hello. I just started using Pencil2D. I have been using Krita for a few months. But, I decided to try Pencil2D.

I use Inkscape to create my individual animation frames and elements. I then export them as png files. I then import the png files into Krita as frames. I am doing the same process with Pencil2D. However, I ran into a problem. I am hoping that this can be a feature added to Pencil2D. It seems to be very helpful in Krita.

NOTE: If this feature exists, please let me know how to do it! I have just started using Pencil2D, and maybe I just haven’t found out how to do it.

With Krita, you can have a layer that you can use as a background. You import an image file onto that layer in one frame at the beginning, and then add layers with elements on top of the background layer. This can help keep the project file size down.

With Pencil2D it appears that I have to repeat that background image file/frame throughout the length of my animation.

In the screenshot you can see the Krita workspace. The background frame is there once. It is repeated throughout the animation. You can see the background image with the gradient and ground is repeated in the middle of the animation sequence. The bird and the green frame elements are on separate layers.

This feature is also helpful if you want to do something like pause the walking bird in a standing position and have some other element move through the scene. I wouldn’t have to repeat that standing bird image on its layer. I would just leave a few frames after it blank and it would automatically be repeated.

Pencil2D already does this. Just import your drawing on a keyframe on it’s own layer, and it will be repeated (exposed) until the next keyframe. Exactly like in Krita. If this does not work for you, please explain what exactly you’ve tried and provide some screenshots showing the issue.

1 Like