Pencil Crash on startup

Hi Guys,

I have qt 5.5.1 installed and I opened Pencil in QT IDE and app crashes on startup on StrokeManager class. mStrokeManager returns NULL in getter method. I am not sure if thats right? Can someone please help me here?

Ok… That got me past the loading, but as soon as I do anything it crashes again…
Seems like a ScribbleArea object needs to exist otherwise bad things happen…

Hello,
I just pulled the code down from github (for the first time) and I got the same error.
My c++ is a bit dusty, but this is a bit strange to me.

mStrokeManager is instantiated in the constructor of the ScribbleArea.
I think this is probably something that only shows up when you fireup the application for the first time.
mScribbleArea is null at this point. I added a check to only retrieve m_pStrokeManager if mScribbleArea is not null…
Since this is my first time using this app, I don’t know if it will hose something else up.

void BaseTool::initialize( Editor* editor )
{
Q_ASSERT( editor );

if ( editor == NULL )
{
qCritical( “ERROR: editor is null!” );
}
mEditor = editor;
mScribbleArea = editor->getScribbleArea();
if (mScribbleArea!= NULL)
{
m_pStrokeManager = mEditor->getScribbleArea()->getStrokeManager();
}
loadSettings();
}

Ok… I meant to edit by original post by for some reason, the edit is not popping up…

This appears to fix the problem…

The issue is being caused by a Scribble area is not assigned when mEditor->init() is called in the MainWindow2 constuctor.

this fixes it.
mEditor = new Editor( this );
mEditor->setScribbleArea(mScribbleArea);//this fixes the crash on startup
mEditor->init();

(My daughter has expressed an interest in animation, and I need a qt creator project to refresh my C++ skills, so I suppose I should get into this git thing…) (She was having problems with her Wacom tablet going all wacko with this app, so this might be a good for some dad-daughter bonding potential)