Opinion, what does the future for Animation look like?

I just wanted to know if anyone had any commentary on how they think 2D animation is doing as a medium. It goes without saying that commercial animation is definitely going through a down-swing, and what’s left of it is generally mediocre whether it be for commercials or animated cartoons.

But I’m curious, does anyone think that it can be salvaged? Or would it even be worth getting into animation as a career? It’s hard to say, I’m still a beginner. It seems really tough getting into.

Additionally, I always have a vision in my head, but I don’t know how to start a project in an efficient, orthodox way. At the end of the day, is it even worth getting into if not for just posting some cartoons around the internet? Like is that even a smart idea? Nowadays all the commercial western animation is done with cheap puppetry systems, and all the frame-by-frame stuff is outsourced. Could a traditionally trained animator even survive out there?

Let me know what you guys think.

@pencilneck Hey, apologies for not commenting. I’ve been swamped with work. Sorry but this will be a wall of text. TL;DR: Do it when you have a career that gives you money, and do it because of passion, not because of monetary rewards.

I just wanted to know if anyone had any commentary on how they think 2D animation is doing as a medium.

The topic is divisive, but any working animator will tell you 2D Animation never died as media and public perception leads you to believe.

The Walt Disney Company isn’t the only studio that exists, when they closed 2D feature film division, some smart ass quoted it as 2D being dead, yeah right so what about Latinamerican (Mexican, Chilean, Peruvian, Argentinian, etc) Canadian, European, Japanese, Korean, Russian and even Chinese films? Not good enough?