Newbie question--want to make a specific animation

Hi everyone,

I’m a total newbie to this program and to animation software. We want to make a short animation, about 5 to 10 seconds long, for my wife’s musical theatre company. It’s for the musical Newsies. We have an image of a chalkboard with stuff written on it already. And we want to add an animation of someone writing the word “STRIKE” overtop of that image in real-time, and have it play back in real-time.

I did try it once, but a couple of things didn’t work. Firstly, when I imported the image, it didn’t appear in the same colours as the original image. On the original message, the top line of writing is in white, while the rest of the writing is also white but in a slightly smaller font. It might be that the top line was also set to bold, while the rest was normal. After importing it, the image appears different, with the writing in the centre of it (like a central square) in white, with the rest of the writing in grey. I don’t know if there’s a way to fix that in Pencil 2D. I suppose we could modify the original image so that all the writing is the same colour and/or it’s all normal, as opposed to part of it being bold.

I then wrote the word “Strike” on top of the image. But when I played the animation, it played it in a fraction of the time it took me to write, which is not what I want. I want the animation to basically record the writing of the word and play it back as if someone was writing it. But I’m not familiar with animation software at all.

Could someone tell me how to do the animation part?

Thanks!

Peter

@Hi Peter. Welcome to the forum. I’ll try to be as succinct as possible but your design problem has to be solved in different fronts and Pencil2D can only cover some of them.

From what you’re describing I gather that you require an animation to reveal the word “strike” as if a hand graphic was writing that word.