Moving one layer in camera & documentation

Hello !
I’m new to pencil2d, downloaded it yesterday - mac version - and I’ve been trying to find a way to move one layer into the frame (such as a character entering and exiting a scene) while the rest (on another layer) remains still but I can’t manage to do that.
When I’m in the camera layer, I can’t select any tool, I can only pan and zoom in/out (is this normal) ? So, any movement of the camera is applied to all layers since I can’t select any particular object.
I figured I would attempt to do the entering/exiting by moving the vector layer instead but that’s a very inefficient way since I need to constantly jump back and forth from the camera layer to the vector layer to assess how much i should move between one frame and the other, since I can’t visualise the camera frame limits when I’m in the vector layer. Any help would be appreciated!
On another note, in the documentation section on the website, it says “Use the left menu to select a documentation page” but I see no menu, no documents… where is the mentioned documentation?
thank you!

@untitled Hi. Welcome. Fist of all, in newer versions the Camera layer functionality was disabled for making animated pans and zooms due to people wanting to have always a visible framing of the canvas. The old Pencil had sort of an infinite kind-of canvas space to draw and the camera is the only way you could export.

If by some miracle you’re using version 0.5.4b you can keyframe the camera pans and zooms, that is you can add a keyframe on frame 1 then go to the last frame and change the position of the camera, but you wouldn’t be able to export.

If you’re using the latest Nightly Build, you don’t have to change between camera layer and other layers, since youll always be able to see the camera frame, and now you can export your animation.