Losing drawings on the timeline just by hitting add or subtract

I’m very new at this so i’m hoping I’m just missing something simple. When I hit the - sign in the timeline all my drawings disappear… I just closed the file without saving the changes so I would expect the drawings to be there when I reopened it but they were still gone! Very frustrating…

I’m sorry to hear about your experience. First let me provide a little bit of background on how these parts of Pencil2D work:

There are two pairs + and - buttons on the timeline. The leftmost ones are for creating a new layer or deleting the active layer respectively. The rightmost ones are for creating a new frame or deleting the current frame.

When you delete a frame, you can undo that action by going to Edit > Undo in the top menu or using the keyboard shortcut (Ctrl+z by default). However when you delete an entire layer, that unfortunately cannot be undone currently. Because of this, when you attempt to delete a layer, a warning message should come up.

Pencil2D will not save anything in an new project until you have saved that project for the first time. Closing Pencil2D without saving, will result in all unsaved changed being lost forever. This includes all changes made since the last time the project was saved, or all changes if the project has never been saved. Attempting to close the program with unsaved changes also should produce a warning popup.

So, I’m afraid your drawings in this case are unrecoverable because they were never saved, and may have already been lost if you deleted the whole layer. We recommend saving a new project right away, resaving it often. Making backup copies of your save file is also strongly recommended, because on rare occasions Pencil2D can corrupt the project file and without backups you can even lose saved work. Backups can be made by making copies of the project file in your file explorer, or by using the File > Save As… item in Pencil2D’s top menu.