[Investigate] Unable to open my work

Hello,
i started a work, a present for someone, but when i tried to open the same file that i have saved from yesterday, it wont open. A text box showed up with "Warning : Pencil cannot read this file. If you wanted to import images, use the command import."
Im new to this software, is there any way to fix it?

@bitterpatt Good day, hmm it is difficult to know what is happening exactly so please let us know the following:

1. Which Operative System you use (i.e Windows 7, Mac OSX, Ubuntu, etc…)
  2. Which version of Pencil2D you are using (go to the menu HELP > ABOUT)
  3. Which file extension does your Pencil save file has (There can either be .PCL OR .PCLX, for more info on this read our FAQ entry here: https://pencil2d.github.io/doc/faq/#understanding-pencil2d-save-files)
  4. How many frames did you draw?
  5. And how many layers did you create? where they bitmap layers or vector layers?

Depending on the type of save file, you should either have a data folder next to it, or not. In both cases, if the file was corrupted due to a memory leak bug we’re recently investigating there is nothing we can do I’m afraid (this bug only happens when the animation is really huge, going past 100+ frames).

However I had another report a few weeks ago with something similar, the person made 2 drawings, saved the file and when they tried to open it Pencil would crash. Apparently this is not the case, but I can’t be for sure if it’s not related as the message that you receive is odd, so would you mind uploading the file (and it’s data folder if there is one) to the uploading service http://mega.nz and linking it here so I can investigate it?

If I can’t open it, and depending on the version of Pencil2D you’re using, that would mean that this is a terrible bug that needs to be addressed ASAP.