introducing myself and a minor question

Hello everybody,

I’ve recently taken interest in Pencil2D, both as a programmer and a wannabe graphic artist. I’m not familiar with the traditional animation workflow, and from what I’ve read it seems that Pencil2D is meant to be used as a “sketching” tool (not sure what the right term is) rather than a solution to create production-ready animation. Is this true ?

I would like to try out Pencil to create animations for a 2D game. As a total noob when it comes to drawing and animating, I need a simple and easy to learn approach. Also since I work as a programmer on medical imaging using C++ and QT, it would fit in nicely with my development environment.

I’m really not a big fan of the flash style animation trend (that’s an understatement actually, because I hate it). I think classic cell style animation is much more appealing.

Side note: I’m under the impression some of this project’s members are french ? Just curious because I’m french too :slight_smile:

Hi @fcollot welcome to the Pencil2D site. Let me dispel some of your doubts:

1. Some of the devs are french (I only know user feeef), but there are people from all parts of the world. Originally this software was made by Pascal Naidon, a frenchman, but he abandoned the project a few years ago due to his own reasons, so Matt Chang, the current lead programmer, picked up Pencil to restart development.

2. Pencil2D is not only aimed for “sketching”, that is making a “croquis” or a previsualization of a fully rendered drawing. It is meant to create hand-drawn animation from idea to movie, skipping maybe the compositing part.

A typical animation pipeline overview in a small studio can go like this:

PRE-PRODUCTION:
IDEA - STORY (Script)
STORYBOARDS
VISUAL DEVELOPMENT (Character Design, Set Design)
AUDIO RECORDING (animators use pre-recorded dialogue to match up performance)
ANIMATIC
LAYOUT & POSING
COLOUR STYLING

PRODUCTION: