Interlacing issue on export from premiere

Hi, I’m new to Pencil2D so I appreciate any help you can offer.

I set up my Pencil2D at 800x600 and that was probably my mistake. Once I exported my animation and imported it into Premiere to do some small edits, I noticed the animation (it is only black text on white background) seems interlaced, or at least the animation has jagged lines on each letter I animated.

I used the vector layers in animating because I didn’t want any issues with blurriness or interlacing, even though I understand now that was probably a mistake too.

Can you advise me how to deal with this jagged line issue? Do you think I exported wrong or imported wrong to Premiere? I want the animation to look super clean and now it doesn’t.

Thanks Jenny

You could probably just export it again with 1080 and 720 px or even more, if you like. Even 2k should be possible. 2048px and 1080px.

Full HD would be 1920 x 1080 px

FraFra

Another possible issue might be your method of export… did you export as a video or frames?

I’d always suggest exporting frames via *.png frames if the export isn’t the final version.

When you export a video, you’ll likely get some form of compression, so it’s best to hold off allowing compression until the final export, this way you don’t get accumulative compression artefacts and any compression will be throughout the entire piece, so it will be less noticeable.

I dunno if that helps with your specific problem (I haven’t tried vectors in Pencil2D), but I think it’s a pretty good general tip for video editing.

1 Like

@nilrep Hi. Sorry to hear you’re having difficulties with your export. Regarding interlacing, this is usually setup ever since creating a new project and sequence.

If the Premiere sequence clip is made with a preset that had any type of interlacing, it should show in the name by appending the letter i e.g HDTV 1080i