image importing help?

I am fairly new to the Pencil2d community, and have played around with the different features it offers before running into this issue. I am unable now to import any image on any layer, whether the form is .jpg or .png. Whenever I try to import an image, an error comes up saying “unable to load bitmap image. tip: use bitmap layer to import bitmap images.” I had successfully imported an image before and only recently have run into this problem, any suggestions on how to solve this?

Good evening Megan, I’m going to ask you if you’re using Pencil’s current “stable” version 0.54 beta found in the downloads section

http://www.pencil2d.org/pencil2d/#download

If you have this version then, the error hints to the possibility that you are not importing the image directly towards a bitmap layer.

So please select your bitmap layer, then select any keyframe by clicking over it (the pink square must turn dark grey when selected) then immediately go to File>Import > Image … > PNG

Anything but PNG Images wont work both for import or export with this version.

If you can’t import certain PNG files, double check they are actual png files, sometimes people rename JPG to PNG and leave it like that so when you download them you can’t tell the difference…but truth is you’re geting a JPEG compression algorithm with the PNG filetype in name only.

Hope this helps, if it doesn’t let us know what version you do have currently by going to the menu Help > About > and you’ll see your current version in the following format: Version: 0.#.# (xx month xx)

Hi Jose, you solved my problem! Thank you so much for your help!

My Question = Will there Ever be a stable Pencil version?
After all these years every effort to use Pencil ends with a MEGA Crash!

It’s so Frustrating!

(Sorry, but it happens for the 1000 time before I wrote this!)

Love the tool, but I see no improvement!

The basic problems are after all these years still there!

Waiting still on Pencil 0.5.5.