How to improve animation?

dot

sir this is my an animation i am a beginner please tell me how to improve it

Welcome to the Community!

If you want one suggestion:

This may be style-dependant, but when the thing on the bottom right extends its arm, instead of duplicating and erasing the part of it, try retracing it each frame, but with the arm extending like normal. It will be a lot cleaner that way. Does this make sense?

1 Like

Thanks for helping :blush: I am really happy and obliged that someone replied me and it’s exciting to be a part of this community. This was my old animation for some reson I couldn’t send my better animation.

This video is a good one- this video is like the go-to guide for independent animators.

This one helps me a lot when I need assistance in animation.

@girija2 Hi. I think advice given to another person will always depend on what the animator wanted to represent on screen initially.

As an spectator I infer that the dot is a small creature flying through the screen, and I understand that another character appears in the scene ad extends their hand and the small creature will land on the character hand.

Perhaps what confuses me most is the flashing of the character on certain frames. In Pencil2D you don’t need to redraw the same picture so it shows, any drawing will automatically show over the screen across the timeline until a new frame is drawn after it, so in that sense it is unnecessary to have the “blinking” as it distracts from the main action which leads to the encounter at the end.

Animation wise, depending on your stylistic intent you might want to add some extra motions to fulfil the principles animation, which are really shorthand rules to understand the laws of physics applied to the apparent motion of an object or character.