Help plese

Hello,

I am new to Pencil, and I recently made a couple animations, but I can’t seem to expotr the file to a viewable format only to PLC or SVG, witch I can’t view with any program (+I use windows 8). If someone could help me I would really apreciate it.

Thank you :slight_smile:

@bloo5390 Hi bloo, first let me explain that the pencil (PCL) file is NOT an image or video file. Think of it just as a box where you store the drawings and stuff, but you don’t want to use the whole box to make a video, just the drawings. So you don’t have to save as, but rather you have to export the file.

For example, If you want to make a video to upload to youtube you have to create that video from a sequence of images (i.e jpg’s, png’s, etc) which after due process will become linked together and will be output as the proper format.

That is to say that you have to export images. Every version of Pencil allows you to do that. Please visit our tutorial page here http://www.pencil2d.org/tutorials#tutorial to learn how to export an image sequence and then use other free software to create the movie. I recommend you to follow the Blender & Pencil2D tutorial, it’s the easiest one.

If after trying that, you still can’t export other stuff, then please let us know what version of Pencil2D you are using.

If you don’t know how to install Blender there’s plenty of tutorials on the web, but they even have a portable ZIP container at their download site, so you don’t have to do any sort of complicated stuff.

In the future we will have our own video export but for now please try out exporting images form Pencil2D and making the video with Blender.

Please let us know later if you managed to create your videos, and hopefully you can show us your animation works :slight_smile: