Errors Building from Source on Linux..

Hello,

I’m attempting to compile and build Pencil2D from the GitHub Source code and I’ve hit some error messages that I can’t seem to find a solution for. I’m still quite new to c++, and git, and Qt, so I may be missing something obvious, but I just don’t know what to make of some of these errors:

gerg@gerg-MS-7693 ~/Pencil2D_Sources/pencil $ make
In file included from interface/editor.cpp:54:0:
managers/preferencemanager.h: In member function ‘void Editor::makeConnections()’:
managers/preferencemanager.h:76:10: error: ‘void PreferenceManager::optionChanged(SETTING)’ is protected
     void optionChanged( SETTING e );
          ^
interface/editor.cpp:128:54: error: within this context
     connect( mPreferenceManager, &PreferenceManager::optionChanged, this, &Editor::settingUpdated );

interface/editor.cpp:128:99: error: no matching function for call to ‘Editor::connect(PreferenceManager*&, void (PreferenceManager::*)(SETTING), Editor* const, void (Editor::*)(SETTING))’
     connect( mPreferenceManager, &PreferenceManager::optionChanged, this, &Editor::settingUpdated );

How come the compiler is claiming that void optionChanged( SETTING e ); is a protected class? It’s not directly marked as such in the code. Is it a function of the Q_SIGNALS: macro?
Also, what is the e doing in void optionChanged( SETTING e );? Is it the same as the option term in the other member functions in Preferencemanager.h, or does it serve a different objective?
Finally, in the line error: no matching function for call to ‘Editor::connect(PreferenceManager*&, void (PreferenceManager::)(SETTING), Editor const, void (Editor::*)(SETTING))’ what part of the code is the error message referring to? All the associated member functions exist I think… Is the optionChanged(SETTING e) function implemented by the Q_SIGNALS: macro?

I’m sorry if this comes off as a question dump. I’ve got a lot of learning to do still, and I appreciate any advice.

Thanks