Color layer as a new feature

Hi

My name is Jakob Koch, and I have worked professionally with animated cartoon for 40 years. I have been an animator, trick photographer and animated cartoon film producer before the computer really took effect in the animated cartoon film production. Now I’m retired, and I have made several small animated cartoons on the computer. I use Pencil2d with great satisfaction, but here I miss the opportunity to import the animation drawings, which I, as an old animator, prefer to make on paper and pencil on lightbox.

I can import the drawings, but not in plain line, and I can only work with the drawings by tracing them into the program. This need I mentioned to my former colleague, David Lamhauge, who is part of the Pencil2d team development program.

David has now made ‘Bitmap coloring feture’ as an addition to the program, and I have had the opportunity to test it.

‘Bitmap coloring feture’ is a valuable addition for the animator who also wants to animate traditionally with paper and pencil on lightbox. After the brief guide David gives on his YouTube video, I was ready to test the program. The process is simple and intuitive, and after a few tests it is easy to go. I hope this feture will be included in future updates of Pencil2d.

Another need I have mentioned for David is an opportunity to more precisely control of the camera function.

In the program there is a "Color Inspector" where you can see and enter the color values. I would like to add a "Camera Inspector" where you can also see and enter the camera positions (x, y and z) in each camera keys.

I hope you can develop this feature.

With kind regards, Jakob Koch

3 Likes