[ANSWERED] Papagayo Help

I am a new animator and I want to know if there is any way to get Papagayo (The lip-sync animation program) to work on Pencil 2D. Another alternative that will make me just as happy-even more so maybe, is if there is a way to play the sound layer from somewhere in the middle; let me elaborate, Whenever I want to animate over sound it makes me play the sound from the beginning, I cannot start in the middle of the file. Is there a way to fix/bypass this?

@cartoonutopia Hey Nick, welcome to the forums (actually I think i’ve seen you before, maybe on tumblr, or else)

Regarding your questions:

1. Yes, of course there is a way to get papagayo into Pencil2D, actually there are many ways, the problem lies in the work you have to do in order to accomplish that. I myself have always wanted to get papagayo into Pencil2D. But it’s always been a difficult feature request.

Just a bit of history to contextualize the answer. Papagayo was made by Lost Marble (anime studio / moho creators) and used to be written in the Python language, since no one maintained that the Morevna project (Synfig studio) kept maintaining it and actually just a few days ago (May 15th 2017) they released a new branched version called Papagayo-NG to make it their own and continue to develop it further and beyond.

However note that Pencil2D is written in C++, so C++ and python have different ideas, C++ is a statically-typed + compiled language, while python in all it’s glory is dinamically type (the language infers the type of your variables) and is interpreted (no need for compiling). Many programmers will tell you both have their advantages and disadvantages, but the problem we have here is that you can’t use one piece of code from one language with the other as easily.