Ability to trim/split/grab audio within the software

Ayo

So I’ve been using Pencil2D for about two years now, (hard to think it’s been that long), and I’ve only used audio within Pencil2D a couple times- mostly when doing an AMV- but that’s about it. The reason is is because there’s no way to trim/split/grab audio within Pencil2D like how we see in video editors. This feature would come in absolute CLUTCH if it was added and it would save time, memory and RAM for me, because the more programs I have open, the more it lags- and I can’t be animating while having my video editor out at the same time.

We see this feature in plenty of video editors, my personal favorites being Kinemaster, YouCut, and Animotica, (with the last two being more obscure).

I hope one day this feature can be added in the program.

1 Like

I agree that this would be a helpful feature, The only alternative I can think of for now would be something like audacity (as you already said). Of course, this is a lot more complicated than it could be. I think you have a really good idea.

1 Like
  1. Yes, it is a good idea
  2. Unfortunately Pencil2D is maintained by a very limited number of people, and none of us has audio editing as a priority. It is not likely to happen soon - if ever…

Can I get @JoseMoreno 's thoughts on this

If you’re looking for a specific person’s opinion, maybe you should DM them?

I’m not sure if that’s a thing you CAN do, but I would try…

Eh it’s not that deep to private message them- I pinged him anyway

@Jordan_River_Studios Hey. Thank you for asking for my opinion but I think the other messages have been clear.

In any case I’ll just leave some considerations in addition to that. First off some of these requests have been put on the roadmap as part of the sound category, but as David mentioned, developer time is scarce and depending on contributor interest it might or might not be added anytime soon.