A bunch of questions from an absolute newbie

Newbie here, just installed Pencil 2D and used it for around 10 minutes.
First of all, I’d like to say that I love this program, simple, free, easy to use. But I have a couple questions/problems.

First off, I like how the “CTRL+Space+drag zooms in/out” and “Space+drag moves canvas” works. Very useful when using a tablet!
However, in the drawing program I used to use (Krita), if I pressed ctrl+space then dragged up, it zoomed in (and vice versa). But in Pencil 2D, it’s the opposite. (drag up zooms out, etc)
I’m not complaining, but if there’s any way to change that, it would be nice to know.

Second, When I create a new layer, only one of the 3 layers (Bitmap, Vector, Camera) gets a layer added. This is most likely intentional and I just don’t get it because I know nothing about “bitmaps” or “vectors”, (I do sort of get the “camera” layer though.) but can someone explain a little?

Third, when I select parts of the layer using the “Select Tool”, it seems to only be able to select in rectangles. I didn’t have any problems with that yet, but in the future I probably will; Is there a separate option for free selecting?

That’s all for now!
Thanks for listening. I like this program, and I’d like to do lots of things with it! :slight_smile:

1 Like

@BeardWix Hi. We currently don’t have a manual out yet, but I’m working on it. However there’s a quick reference which only touches on the essentials, like tools and panels but doesn’t treat workflow tips at all.

If you’re willing and have time, I can gladly livestream a quick session for you to show you how to use Pencil2D right now with all it’s quirks. There are many little things that the program has which need to be addressed in the manual but it might be too time consuming for me to outline them in this thread.

@BeardWix As for your particular questions: