Images (JPGs, TIFFs, GIFs) not loading (but PNGs do) -- bug?

I am new to Pencil2D. It seems like the perfect animation software I need for the simple stuff I need to do … But for the life of me, I can’t even load a simple image … I have tried .JPG, .TIF, and .GIF (both lowercase and uppercase). However, .PNG work well.

I installed Pencil2D on Windows10 and Windows7, with the same result.

Anyone with the same problem?

Thanks in advance!

Albert.

@albert_folch Hi Albert, I assume you are using the 0.5.4b version that it’s available for download in the website right?

Because what you describe appears to be a bug that was reported 3 years ago in a previous version (the lowercase vs upper case problem is particular to that) which is not available for download.

If you don’t have this version please visit our download page:

http://www.pencil2d.org/pencil2d/#download

Anyway I’ve just tried to import images with that same version 0.5.4b out of the box and these file formats work:

jpeg, jpg, bmp, tif (with a single F), .gif (if you import animated gifs, it will import the first frame only).

Here are the steps I take to do this.

1. Open Pencil2D.exe
  2. Either create a new Bitmap Layer OR Select a Bitmap Layer on the timeline

Note: It’s very important to select the Bitmap layer, if any other layer type is selected, nothing will import properly.

1. Go to File > Import > Image…
  2. The Folder Explorer Window will appear. On the bottom right hand side, select the filetype you want to import (PNG, JPG, etc)

1. Files from the selected filetype ONLY will appear in your Folder Explorer Window
  2. Select the file you want and press Open

If after following these steps you still can’t open other filetype besides PNG, please try to download some of our newest -but experimental- downloads which are pretty much working with fixed stuff, although are still prone to crash, but devs are working hard on stabilizing the software.