Cat Point of View

I’m no artist like some of the other Pencil2d users here, but I still appreciate what a great tool it is. I saw how the vector files are called per frame in the .pcl file, so I text edited the .pcl to call up 10 separate mouth positions for the cat. I used a free app Papagayo to determine the use of the 10 different mouth positions to fit the dialog.

I’m using Pencil2d Windows 0.5.4. The vector bucket tool always sets the fill color to red. I noticed that I could change the fill color to black by text editing the .vec file of a frame by changing area colourNumber=“1” to area colourNumber=“0”. Also, a few global text edits can be used to make a mirror image of a vector frame. I can give more details if anyone is interested.

Thanks

@ronwhite This is actually creepy. Love it! Well done. I’m kind of a volunteer moderator around here, but what you’re saying rings a bell since I’ve been messing around the vec / pcl files for a while.

The “red-only fill” bug has been known to happen in MAC systems, and as far as I know it’s been fixed in the latest Nightly Builds which you can find here for your appropriate system (if it’s not a MAC):

https://pencil2d.github.io/download/

The mirror image sounds like an interesting workaround, although I would prefer people to be able to do it “by the rules” a.k.a using a button within the program, but as you might infer we’re short on developers. So if you want to post here your approach maybe we can use it later on to make some adjustments on a new version, or maybe to create a hackable gui button to produce the same result.

Also props on using papagayo with Pencil2D, I’ve always been keen on trying to integrate Papagayo’s functionality with Pencil2D, but I lack the coding powers to do so, so I can only propose stuff and let “the colors of the wind” do the rest. Hah.

Anyway welcome to the community forum, and thank you for your interest in Pencil2D!