What do you think of Pencil2D?

Hello Pencil2D community!

I am a software developer, looking for a hobby. I realized that I really like 2D animation. I have used Anime Studio in the past. However, I feel that vectors/bones make it difficult for me to express my ideas. It seems I need something for frame-by-frame animation.

I took a look at Toon Boom. Maybe it is the ideal tool, but the interface is a real mess (therefore Flash is also out of the question!).

Then I found Pencil2D! The interface is simple and intuitive. Superb!

Other than a very curious exporting problem on Mac, I really like the application.

I heard that there wasn’t much progress back in 2014. I’d like to know what do you guys think of Pencil2D for the future - is it a reliable path for a 2D animation hobbyist who intends to work on more elaborate projects overtime? Or should I reconsider other alternatives?

Alternatives? I see no alternatives except Tupi. Not sure if Tupi is great though. I tried using it. It’s kinda hard to get used to it. Plus, I don’t think I can make a good quality of animation with it.

So yeah, it seems like there is no alternatives. I tried searching for alternatives, but I got nothing.

I don’t use Pencil2D only to make animations. I use Inkscape, GIMP and Blender for it as well. (Yeah, open source programs babeh! x3)