Problem with moving layers

I’m new to Pencil2d but I really like it overall so far. It works really well with my drawing monitor and I had a lot of trouble with that using Adobe products so it’s nice to see it finally work the way it’s supposed to. I also like the customizable short cut keys. I’m going to be building myself a custom keypad for my drawing shortcuts and those customizable shortcuts will make it so much easier. I look forward to using this a lot in the future.

One issue that’s been perplexing me though is the way layers work. When I try to move a layer, I want to insert it between two other layers but instead it swaps with one of them. I can’t seem to insert layers in between like I’m used to doing in other programs with layers. I feel like I’m missing something, but I can’t seem to find anything in the FAQ, tutorial, manual, or the forum. I have the latest 64bit Windows build from the front page link, dated 5-20-2017.

As an example I have this layer setup:

I want to add layer 2.5 and put it between 2 and 3 so I highlight layer 2, expecting it make a new layer after 2 it but it appears at the top of the list. Not a huge deal, but I have this now:

So I try to move it in between 2 and 3 and I get this:

I can’t get it to just move one layer, it always swaps with one of the two layers I’m trying to get it in between. I have to rearrange things like it’s one of those sliding tile puzzles and it’s more than a little frustrating once I get a few layers and I’m in the habit of working with a decent amount of layers. I’ve also tried to move layers using all the usual Ctrl, Shift, Alt with the same results. Any tips?

Also, is there a way to lock layers? Or something like layer folders? Am I using layers very differently than other people using this program do? If so, any tips? Thanks!

Jade

Hi Jade