[ANSWERED] Animation Dilemma > Animation Resources

Hello,

My interest in 2d animation started in November 2015, so I’m not that experienced in it, yet. I am currently looking for some practice tutorials for animation. I tried looking for it, but haven’t found anything good yet.

When I mean tutorials, I don’t mean regarding the software. I am already getting a hang of it. But my request is that if anyone has any set of practice that I should go through so that I get to understand the fundamentals of 2d animation.

Unfortunately, there aren’t any local classes for animation too. Sad. So I’m relying mostly on the internet.

So my request is, if anyone can give me a simple list of tasks to do so that I can start learning animation. As far as my “professional” talents go, I can do the bouncing ball. Now what are the next steps I need to take?

Firstly, I have some knowledge about the 12 principles of animation, but cant seem to find any good examples to start working on them. Secondly, I know some of you may tell me to do something from live examples, I will get to that later I suppose, but not yet.

So… Yea… Confusion…

Thank You

1 Like

@sumit_makwana Hey , welcome to the Pencil2D forums!

Indeed it’s sometimes difficult to find out proper animation theory on the web, but it’s just that they are undercover. I’ll post a list of online resources for you to begin exploring.

But let me say this in advance, as the legendary Richard Williams put it, animation is “…the sophisticated use of the basics”. And just what are the basics? the fundamentals of animation are the rules and concepts that allow you to understand how the laws of nature work in a representation of itself.

That means that you HAVE to understand how nature works, in order to distill those observations into your animation.

First I suggest to learn about physics, particularly classic (newtonian) physics work, no need for formulas, but just how the concepts apply to our daily life, so you have: